This collection features full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
Reports multiple factors which influence how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop rankings for each state’s counties.
Provides comprehensive, up-to-date and peer-reviewed information on prescription medications, over-the-counter medications and natural products. Also has many other useful features including Micromedex Patient Care Notes, Harvard Health Topics, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Useful for both consumers and professional health care providers.
Essential Nursing Resources (ENR) is the premier product of the Interagency Council on Information Resources in Nursing. The ICIRN first created a research tool for nurses and librarians beginning in 1967 and has, since that time, provided a tool listing important and helpful references and resources for nurses and librarians.
The FDA is responsible for protecting and promotion public health through the regulations and supervision of food safety, tobacco products, dietary supplements, prescription and over-the-counter pharmaceutical drugs (medications), vaccines, biopharmacceuticals, blood tranfusions, medical devices, electromagnetic radional emitting devices (ERED), veterinary products, and cosemetics.
Government site dedicated to the understanding of genetic conditions including information about genes and chromosomes. Includes a glossary of medical and genetic definitions as well as links to other genetic resources.
Government site offering reliable information on a variety of health care topics. Includes Health A - Z, information on finding specific health services, health news and free interactive health tools. Information available in Spanish.
Site offering comprehensive, in-depth and up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention and policy sponsored by the University of California San Francisco. Includes an online textbook for professionals and there is information for the general public.
Government site for health-care consumers offering reliable and up-to-date health information. Includes online videos, a medical dictionary, drug information and links to the latest medical research. Available in Spanish.
Contains information on drugs of abuse, and related topics such as addiction science, medical consequences and trends/statistics. There are special sections for parents/teachers, researchers, students/young adults and medical/health professionals. Government site of the National Institute of Drug Abuse.
Government site of the National Institute of Nursing Research which is dedicated to promoting and improving the health of the American people through nursing research. Includes highlights of ongoing research, training opportunities and news/information.
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is an agency of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and is the primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and health related research.
Examples of information found on this site include Medline Plus, clinical trials, NIH senior health, tox town, household products database, genetics home reference, dietary supplement labels database and AIDS information.
Free govenment site providing access to about 20,000 citations from the biomedical literature including Medline, life science journals and online books. May include links to full-text content. A division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
Privately owned website providing quality health information to consumers. Topics include Health A - Z, pharmacy information, healthy living, eating/diet, parenting/pregnancy, mental health and pet health.
The World Health Organization (WHO) is the authority for health within the United Nations (UN). WHO provides leadership on globlal health matters, sets standards of care, provides technical support to countries and monitors health trends.