Skip to main content
See also: Children's Literature
American Verse Project
This project from the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press offers an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
An online archive of the Booknotes television program. Programs are listed by categories. The archive can also be searched by keyword.
Celebration of Women Writers, A
Highlights the works of women writers by offering special online collections such as Newbery Honor Books and Medal Winners by Women, 1922-1964, and books and presentations originally displayed at the Woman's Building at the Chicago World's Fair, 1893. Many books are available online, in full text.
Christian Classics Library
The link takes you to the authors' listing on this site, which contains many full text resources from such authors as Dante Alighieri and Saint Augustine.
English Short Title Catalog
An index that covers titles published in England, the United States, Canada, or British colonies before 1801.
Famous Quotes & Authors
Offers a collection of quotes by famous authors.
First World War Poetry Digital Archive
Provides full text of poems as well as original documents for major British poets who fought in WW1.
Read "The Canterbury Tales" online. This resource also discusses Chaucer's language and provides information on the various Chaucer translations.
Glossary of Literary Terms
An online dictionary of literary terms.
Library of Southern Literature
Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924.
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. Use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles covered in Gale titles.
Mark Twain in His Times
Focuses on how "Mark Twain" and his works were created and defined, marketed and performed, reviewed and appreciated. The goal is to allow readers, scholars, students and teachers to see what Mark Twain and His Times said about each other, in a way that can speak to us today.
Offers full text poems, as well as audio versions, online. Offers a children's poetry collection, and also resources for teachers and students.
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Web site devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. Published by the University of Maryland.
A comprehensive resource for researching Shakespeare, his life, and his works. Provides full text of his sonnets and plays, analysis of his works, information on theaters where Shakespearean works were originally performed, and key dates from this time period.
Shakespeare Resource Center
Provides many of the same resources as Shakespeare Online, but also offers insight into Shakespeare's language and life in Elizabethan England.
Victorian Women Writers Project
A collection of poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more from lesser-known British born women writers of the 19th century. From Indiana University.
Walt Whitman Archive, The
Provides full text of Whitman's works, as well as criticism, images of original manuscripts, pictures of Whitman, and teaching materials to help discuss Whitman and his works in the classroom.
Willa Cather Archive
Willa Cather Archive sponsored by the University of Nebraska - Lincoln, provides information about the study of her life and writings.
Wright American Fiction
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography
American Fiction, 1851-1875 . Browse by author or by keyword search.
Visit us @ the Research Help Desk
Call us: (765) 455-9521
Email us: firstname.lastname@example.org
© 2019 The Trustees of
2300 S Washington St, Kokomo, IN 46904
Ph: (765) 455-9513