LibGuides: Music & Theatre Research Guide: Research in Music & Theatre

Theatre in Video
This collection contains definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries and interviews, online in streaming video format. The collection represents leading playwrights, actors, and directors, from Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
Music Online: Opera in Video
A collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses, and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
Dance Online: Dance in Video
This video collection supports the study of 20th century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a collection of nearly 20,000 streaming videos that cover numerous subjects from producers like PBS, HBO, and BBC. Be sure to use the transcript and citation features.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: Films Media Group
Feature Films for Education
A collection of more than 600 full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles and includes dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Infobase

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
As the definitive research database for theatre and dance studies, this resource comprises the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance index, as well as the full text for top performing arts journals and books.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID, as well as to Indiana Residents via INSPIRE.
Vendor: EBSCO, INSPIRE
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Database, formerly titled International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text, indexes and provides full text access to scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. This database also includes biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews, and event coverage.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: ProQuest (Chadwyck-Healey)
Arts & Humanities Database
A collection of full text journals that cover Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies. Journals include scholarly, peer-reviewed titles, as well as selected trade and consumer titles. Journal contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: ProQuest
JSTOR
A multidisciplinary collection of full text articles and books covering the humanities, arts, sciences, and business.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Indiana University Alumni Association members may access this resource by logging in to MyIU at http://alumni.indiana.edu/my-iu/index.html.
Vendor: JSTOR

IUCAT
Search for books and ebooks in IUCAT, the online catalog shared by all IU Libraries. Search by keyword, title, or author, and make sure to check the "All IUCAT" box to view all materials available through Request Delivery.

Public Access
Vendor: Indiana University

Alexander Street: Plays
Search across Alexander Street collections of full-text plays, including Twentieth Century North America Drama, Asian American Drama, Black Drama, and North American Indian Drama.

Shakespeare in Performance
The resource features prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital

IUCAT: Plays in print
Browse many of our plays available in print at the Kokomo Library in IUCAT. This link takes you to all books in the Language and Literature section (LC Call Number Range P) that include the terms "play," "plays," or "a play" in the title. You can also search for plays by specific playwrights with the Author option in the search dropdown.
Databases A-Z: Performing Arts
Browse and search in all of our e-resources in the Performing Arts subject area.