The CQ Researcher is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. The single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: CQ Press
Credo Reference is a collection of reference books powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles, and publishers. The collection covers major subject fields, including art, medicine, history, technology, and more. The collection features: audio pronunciation files; art, science, and medical images; and atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: Credo Reference
This database contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, and reference books, plus a vast collection of images. Subjects covered include Applied Sciences, Biology, Earth and Space Science, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Life Science, Mathematics, and more.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID, as well as to Indiana Residents via INSPIRE.
Vendor: EBSCO, INSPIRE
A resource discovery tool that provides access to the majority of IU Kokomo Library holdings through a single search box. Searchable holdings include books, scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, streaming videos, government documents, and more.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: EBSCO
This database covers the business of health care administration and provides full text coverage from well-known administrative journals. It is considered a critical resource for hospital administrators and managers.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID, as well as to Indiana Residents via INSPIRE.
Vendor: EBSCO, INSPIRE
Designed for healthcare professionals and researchers, this database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: ProQuest
The premier source for full text articles from sports and sports medicine journals. This database covers coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, nutrition, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: EBSCO
A collection of online resources spanning life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It includes full text journal articles, e-books, and reference works.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Wiley
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
A collection of streaming videos that covers a wide range of health care settings, including medical technology, patient care, pharmacology, respiratory therapy, surgical technology, and more. Videos can be watched in their entirety or as individual segments.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Infobase
This vast collection of DSM-5® and ICD-10 videos, from 2012 on, showcases mental health symptoms as they unfold. Films focus on counseling, social work, medical, nursing, psychiatry, and other behavioral health care topics.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
Films On Demand is a collection of nearly 20,000 streaming videos that cover numerous subjects. Subject collections include: Art & Architecture; Biology; Business & Economics; Criminal Justice & Law; Education; Health & Medicine; Nursing; Psychology; Sociology; and many more. Includes feature to create your own playlists.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID
Vendor: Films Media Group
A collection of streaming documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews focused on health issues and their impact on society. Covers a variety of topics, including pediatric AIDS, breast cancer, addiction, Alzheimer's disease, access to healthcare, and more.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
An extensive streaming video collection that includes the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, medical fitness, sport science, work site wellness, exercise adherence, and more.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Alexander Street
Public health surveillance is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice. Data sets and surveillance systems related to nutrition are provided. A number of the data sources can be used to examine public health issues across time or to compare groups at a specific time point.
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (part of the National Agricultural Library) - is a leader in food and human nutrition information dissemination since 1971 - provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Government site of the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) offering statistical health information to guide policies and improve the health of the nation's population.
Nutrition is the intake of food, considered in relation to the body’s dietary needs. Good nutrition – an adequate, well balanced diet combined with regular physical activity – is a cornerstone of good health. Poor nutrition can lead to reduced immunity, increased susceptibility to disease, impaired physical and mental development, and reduced productivity.
