Government Documents: Branches of Government: Executive Branch

Provides access to the text of the presidents' speeches, bill signing statements, executive orders, proclamations, communications to Congress, and other presidential materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

An annual report sent to Congress that is an overview of the nation's economic progress.

"To provide the President with the support that he or she needs to govern effectively, the Executive Office of the President (EOP) was created in 1939 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The EOP has responsibility for tasks ranging from communicating the President’s message to the American people to promoting our trade interests abroad."

This website presents brief biographies of all first ladies.

This website provides general information about the presidential library system and guides for doing research in presidential materials. Links to each presidential library is provided.

Compilation of messages and papers of the presidents beginning with the Hoover administration. Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events.

***PLEASE NOTE*** FDsys contains the Public Papers for Presidents George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush, and Obama. Additional volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, and Reagan will be made available in the future.

Information about the current Vice President. This website includes links to information and application forms for the U.S. Military, Naval, and Air Force Academies.

Send e-mail to the president, browse press releases, or get information on federal services from the executive branch of the U.S. government.

This website provides information about the fellows program, selection criteria, the application process, and the current class of fellows.

Use this website to find information regarding White House tours and events.

"Although it is an unofficial Web site, the American Presidency Project Web site provides a more complete collection of certain key presidential documents than can be found elsewhere on the publicly accessible Web. In the Documents section, the site contains the following: Public Papers of the Presidents, (1929-present); State of the Union Addresses (1790-present); inaugural addresses (1789-present); transcripts from radio addresses (1982-present); and presidential candidate debates (1960-present); and other related documents. The site also has presidential election results from 1789-present, numerous presidential statistics (number of vetoes, job approval ratings, and more), and audio and video of presidents' speeches."