Government Documents: Branches of Government: Judicial Branch

The official website of the Court of Appeals First Circuit. The First Circuit covers Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, and Rhode Island.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Second Circuit. The Second Circuit covers Connecticut, Vermont, and New York.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Third Circuit. The Third Circuit covers Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and the Virgin Islands.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Fourth Circuit. The Fourth Circuit covers Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit. The Fifth Circuit covers Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Sixth Circuit. The Sixth Circuit covers Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Seventh Circuit. The Seventh Circuit covers Illinois, Indiana, and Wisconsin.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Eighth Circuit. The Eighth Circuit covers Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Ninth Circuit. The Ninth Circuit covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Tenth Circuit. The Tenth Circuit covers Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming.

The official website of the Court of Appeals Eleventh Circuit. The Eleventh Circuit covers Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.

Federal cases are searchable by docket number, party name, or words in the text of the case. Cases can also be browsed by date.

Excellent, free, nongovernmental finding aid for Supreme Court opinions back to 1893, volume 150 of the U.S. Reports.

The Oyez Project features digitized outtakes from tape recordings of oral arguments on cases going back to 1955. It is searchable chronologically (by chief justice), or by case (by case or by docket number). It includes a "deep-dive" feature giving video reports by legal scholars on the background of certain cases.

Information on this website includes copies of official bankruptcy forms as well as credit counseling and information for filing without an attorney.

The official website of the United States Supreme Court which includes recent decisions, docket, court rules and court opinions.

A federal court established as a judicial forum for tax deficiences as determined by the IRS. The website has sections on opinions, forms, rules, and fees. The Taxpayer Information section is a guide to the process for those who represent themselves before the court.