Chemistry Resources
- Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database is a definitive resource for the study of both applied and general sciences. Major fields of study included are aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, and military.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is one of the largest collections of published scholarly research. Full text articles are available from over 3,800 journals that cover Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences and Humanities.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It provides information on early discovery through clinical trials with combined coverage from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Services) and MEDLINE. NOTE: To use this resource, please first register for an account. Follow the instructions here to register.
- Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A gateway to open access journals and articles from the Thieme Group. This collection of peer reviewed journals provides scientific information in the fields of medicine, chemistry, and informatics. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science platform provides access to scholarly materials covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The Web of Science Core Collection includes these citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Emerging Sources Citation Index. Content is available from 1995 to the present.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new windowIUCAT, the catalog shared by all IU Libraries, is the best place to search for books and ebooks.
Search tips:- Start out with broad keywords to locate a wide range of titles.
- Check the All IUCAT box to search for items that you can request from other IU campus libraries.
- Watch this video for a brief introduction to IUCAT.
- SpringerLink eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA collection of nearly 5,000 e-books covering 24 disciplines, including biomedical and life science, chemistry and materials science, computer science, and mathematics and statistics.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of online resources spanning life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It includes full text journal articles, e-books, and reference works.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST, including IR, UV/Vis, MS spectra, and thermochemical and thermophysical properties information.
- NMRShiftDB2"NMRShiftDB2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties."
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It provides information on early discovery through clinical trials with combined coverage from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Services) and MEDLINE. NOTE: To use this resource, please first register for an account. Follow the instructions here to register.
- Spectral Database for Organic CompoundsThis is a free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan. It includes six different types of spectra for organic compounds: MS, NMR (C and H), ESR, IR, and Raman.
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease RegistryThis website provides information on toxic substances, health hazards, and emergency response to hazardous materials incidents.
- ChemIDplus Lite (From National Library of Medicine)Allows you to search across a number of government chemical databases. Find information on specific chemicals, but also on common household chemicals, and on those chemicals that have been designated environmental hazards.
- PubChemPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An open access database comprising properties and associated information for more than 67 million chemical structures. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowSciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. It provides information on early discovery through clinical trials with combined coverage from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Services) and MEDLINE. NOTE: To use this resource, please first register for an account. Follow the instructions here to register.
- Espacenet: Patent SearchSponsored by the Europena Patent Office, this database provides free access to 110 million patent documents.
- Google PatentsGoogle Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.
- US Patent & Trademark Office - Search for PatentThe USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and PDF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
