CINAHL Search Terms
Like the catalog, the periodical databases use formal Subject Headings. Knowing these search terms for your topic will be helpful in retrieving the most relevant articles. To get you started on individual theorists and their theories, the list below contains the headings used by the CINAHL database. You can use these in either the Subject or Keyword searching.
THEORIST/THEORY
- PATRICIA BENNER
- BENNER'S PROFESSIONAL ADVANCEMENT MODEL
- VIRGINIA HENDERSON
- HENDERSON NURSING MODEL
- DOROTHY JOHNSON
- JOHNSON BEHAVIORAL SYTEM MODEL
- IMOGENE KING
- KING OPEN SYSTEMS MODEL
- MADELEINE LEININGER
- LEININGER'S THEORY OF CULTURE CARE DIVERSITY AND UNIVERSALITY
- MYRA LEVINE
- LEVINE CONSERVATION MODEL
- BETTY NEUMAN
- NEUMAN SYSTEMS MODEL
- MARGARET NEWMAN
- NEWMAN HEALTH MODEL
- FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE
- NIGHTINGALE'S NURSING THEORY
- DOROTHEA OREM
- OREM SELF CARE MODEL
- IDA JEAN ORLANDO
- ORLANDO'S NURSING THEORY
- ROSEMARIE PARSE
- PARSE'S THEORY OF HUMAN BECOMING
- HILDEGARD PEPLAU
- PEPLAU INTERPERSONAL RELATIONS MODEL
- MARTHA ROGERS
- ROGER'S SCIENCE OF UNITARY HUMAN BEING
- CALLISTA ROY
- ROY ADAPTATION MODEL
- JOYCE TRAVELBEE
- TRAVELBEE INTERPERSONAL THEORY
- JEAN WATSON
- WATSON'S THEORY OF CARING
Databases
Library databases are great sources for locating scholarly periodical articles written by or about nurse theorists and their respective theories. Here are some suggestions for where to begin your research:
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly full text journals and indexes additional journal articles. Covers nursing, allied health, and medical journals.
- Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new windowDesigned for healthcare professionals and researchers, this database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
- APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThis index from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains nearly four million records and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 17th century. Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations are available. All journals are indexed in PsycINFO and linked to the full text in the PsycARTICLES database.
Articles
- Current Trends in Nursing TheoriesAuthors: Im, Eun-Ok; Ju Chang, Sun
Source: Journal of Nursing Scholarship 2012; 44 (2): 2nd Quarter: 156-64. (52 ref)
Publication Type: journal article - research, statistics, systematic review, tables/charts - Respect for Human Dignity: A Central Phenomenon to Philosophically Unite Nursing Theory and Practice through Consilience of KnowledgeAuthor: Jacobs, Barbara Bennett
Source: Advances in Nursing Science 2001 Sep; 24 (1): 17-35. (57 ref)
Publication Type: journal article - tables/charts - Whither Nursing Models? The Value of Nursing Theory in the Context of Evidence-Based Practice and Multidisciplinary Health CareAuthor: McCrae, Niall
Source: Journal of Advanced Nursing 2012 Jan; 68 (1): 222-9. (44 ref)
Publication Type: journal article - review - Who Uses Nursing Theory? A Univariate Descriptive Analysis of Five Years' Research ArticlesAuthor: Bond, A. Elaine
Source: Scandinavian Journal of Caring Sciences 2011 Jun; 25 (2): 404-9. (18 ref)
Publication Type: journal article - research, tables/charts.
