IUCAT Records for Basic Collection Materials
Assistance Listings
IU Kokomo online access only.
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
IU Kokomo online access only.
Budget of the United States Government
IU Kokomo has print access from 1978 - Present. This resource can be accessed online too.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
IU Kokomo has online access only
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Code of Federal Regulations
Library holds the latest print edition only. 1996-present available through govinfo.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Congress.gov
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Congressional record : proceedings and debates of the ... Congress
Online: http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1671
Constitution of the United States of America (CONAN): Analysis and Interpretation
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Economic Indicators
Jan. 2006-Sep.2010,Nov.2010-July 2012 in print.
Online: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ECONI
Economic Report of the President
Online: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=ERP
Explore Census Data
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Federal Register
Online: https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/FR
govinfo
IU Kokomo has online access only.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Online: https://www.bls.gov/ooh/home.htm
Official Congressional Directory
Online: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CDIR
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Online: https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=PPP
Social Security Handbook
IU Kokomo has online access only.
United States Government Manual
IU Kokomo has online access only.
United States Reports
Copyright restrictions prevent the inclusion of some tables in the electronic version.
Kokomo holdings 1790-2013
United States Statutes at Large
IU Kokomo has online access only.
USA.gov
IU Kokomo has online access only.
A subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available.
Ask Us
The Basic Collection
Publications included in the Basic Collection are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of their federal government. The Basic Collection serves as a good resource when developing and maintaining a depository collection.
The list of titles constituting the Basic Collection was first developed in 1977 to identify the most basic federal publications for inclusion in depository collections. This list has been periodically updated since then. A depository library is REQUIRED to have the titles in the Basic Collection accessible for immediate use. For IUCAT records for the Basic Collection, look through the gallery on the left-hand side. For direct links to websites, follow the links below.
Direct Web Links for Basic Collection Materials
- Assistance ListingsProvides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. GovernmentBen's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.
- Budget of the United States GovernmentProvides the presidential budget proposals for a given fiscal year.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or use Advanced Search for more options.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary.
- Congress.govProvides information about legislative activities, publications, and other related materials for members of Congress and the public.
- Congressional RecordThe Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationAlso known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
- Economic IndicatorsPublished monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.
- Economic Report of the President to CongressAn annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
- Explore Census DataA source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
- Federal RegisterThe daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
- govinfoAn online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
- Official Congressional DirectoryIncludes biographical and directory information about members of the House and Senate, committee memberships, terms of service, and related content.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United StatesThe official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
- Social Security HandbookThe resource for all Social Security questions.
- United States CodeThe permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.
- The United States Government ManualThis is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.
- United States ReportsContains the Supreme Court’s opinions.
- United States Statutes at LargeThe United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.
- USA.govA subject-based portal to Federal services and resources online. A Spanish site is also available.
All description information was taken from FDLP Basics. The citation is as follows, “FDLP Basic Collection.” FDLP, Federal Depository Library Program, 30 July 2019, www.fdlp.gov/requirements-guidance/collections-and-databases/1442-basic-collection.
