Government Information - IUCAT
Fundamentals of Government Information
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them...
Executive Privilege
Executive Privilege--called "the definitive contemporary work on the subject" by the Journal of Politics--is widely considered the best in-depth history and analysis of executive privilege and its relation to the proper scope and limits of presidential power. This fourth edition is revised and updated to include the two Obama administrations and the first three years of the Trump administration...
National Security, Leaks and Freedom of the Press
Written by a group of the nation's leading constitutional scholars, a deeply informed, thoughtful, and often surprising examination of who has First Amendment rights to disclose, to obtain, or to publish classified information relating to the national security of the United States...
The Algorithmic Society
We live in an algorithmic society. Algorithms have become the main mediator through which power is enacted in our society. This book brings together three academic fields - Public Administration, Criminal Justice and Urban Governance - into a single conceptual framework, and offers a broad cultural-political analysis, addressing critical and ethical issues of algorithms...
Social Media and Democracy
Over the last five years, widespread concern about the effects of social media on democracy has led to an explosion in research from different disciplines and corners of academia. This book is the first of its kind to take stock of this emerging multi-disciplinary field by synthesizing what we know, identifying what we do not know and obstacles to future research, and charting a course for the future inquiry...
Power and Risk in Policymaking
This book presents detailed accounts of policymaking in contemporary risk communication. Specifically, it expands on the understanding of the policy decision-making process where there is little or no evidential base, and where multiple interpretations, power dynamics and values shape the interpretation of public health risk issues...
Cyber Republic
Science and tech expert George Zarkadakis presents an indispensable guide to making liberal democracies more inclusive, and the digital economy more equitable in the coming Fourth Industrial Revolution. Around the world, liberal democracies are in crisis. Citizens have lost faith in their government; right-wing nationalist movements frame the political debate...
U.S. Government Information
- govinfo
govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all. govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
IU Kokomo Government Databases
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Coverage begins with July 1976. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries including the IU Kokomo Library.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digitized collections from the 15 universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) plus the University of California system. Full text is available for works in the public domain.
HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law
In addition to a vast collection of law journals, this database also contains the entire Congressional Record, U.S. reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th and 19th centuries, the Federal Register, and much more.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides bibliographic information to statistics produced by the U.S. federal government, state and local governments, international governmental organizations, and non-governmental organizations.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
Additional Resources to Search for Government Information
- Government Information OnlineChat or Email with a government documents librarian.
- MetaLibMetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
- U.S. Government Publishing OfficeKeeping America Informed as the official, digital, and secure source for producing, preserving, and distributing official Federal Government publications and information products for Congress, Federal agencies, and the American public.
