LibGuides: SOC-S 252: Methods of Sociological Research: Journal Articles

Some overall strategies for locating relevant publications:

Be sure to search for phrases in quotation marks (e.g. "foster care", "housing shortage", "parental leave").
Use built-in Subject filters to narrow results and locate relevant research.
Skim article titles and abstracts to find new search terms and phrases, identify themes, and modify your search strategy.
If you are searching in a larger database like EDS or Google Scholar, add AND sociology to your search phrase.
If you don't see a full text link, try the Look for It link or button. This will either take you to the full text in another database or provide a pre-filled form to request the article via interlibrary loan.
To see if IUK has access to an article you found cited elsewhere, you can:
- Copy and paste the "article title" into EDS, or
- Look for the journal in BrowZine and navigate to the cited volume and issue, or
- Search for the journal title in IUCAT and navigate to our online access from there, or
- Email the citation to your librarian.

Recommended search tools:

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index of the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Includes both abstracts and full-text of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Search here when you want to get a full picture of what's being published in the field of sociology.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID.
Vendor: ProQuest
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Use this database to locate articles from a wide range of social science journals. Be sure to use the filters on the left to limit your results to recently published articles from academic journals.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID, as well as to Indiana Residents via INSPIRE.
Vendor: EBSCO, INSPIRE
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a streamlined interface for searching for a broad range of scholarly works, including peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, presentations, book chapters, and more.
- The wide range of sources located via Google Scholar means that many may not be peer-reviewed. Be sure to look at your source carefully before using it.
- If you find a great article that is a few years old (or even older), copy and paste the title into Google Scholar. Then, click Cited by to find even more recent articles which have cited that one.
- Never pay for a source! Use the strategies above to locate the article for free through IU Kokomo via our collections or interlibrary loan, or email the citation to your librarian.

Specific journals:

American Journal of Sociology
Browse issues and access articles from this leading journal via BrowZine. Article links will take you to full-text options on The University of Chicago Press Journals platform.
American Sociological Review
Browse issues and access articles from this leading journal via BrowZine. Article links will take you to full-text options on the Sage Journals platform.
Annual Review of Sociology
Browse issues and access articles from this leading journal via BrowZine. Article links will take you to full-text options on the Annual Reviews platform.
Sociology Journals (BrowZine)
Browse journals in Sociology that you can access via the IU Kokomo Library. Browse by sub-topic, skim the titles in recent issues of leading journals, and access full-text articles.