Understand the context
Search in or skim chapters from these recommended ebooks for more context on the backgrounds and identities relevant to your case study:
Multicultural social work practice: A competency-based approach to diversity and social justiceThis ebook includes strategies and approaches to providing culturally competent support in social work. Chapters describing the sociopolitical context of social work and identity may be helpful, as well as chapters on working with specific demographic groups, including African Americans and Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.
Multicultural perspectives in social work practice with familiesThis ebook features relevant chapters on working with clients from different racial, ethnic, religious, educational, and employment backgrounds.
Handbook of health social workISBN: 9781119420729This ebook includes relevant chapters on communication in health care, social work with older adults in healthcare settings, and more.
Transcultural health care: A culturally competent approachThis ebook includes chapters which provide overviews of specific demographic groups and unique factors which may need to be considered to provide culturally competent care. While written for health care workers, this information is useful for providers in many fields.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new windowSearch in IUCAT to locate more ebooks and print books with relevant chapters. Use broad search terms in this search tool, and be sure to make use of the filters on the left to limit your results.
Generate search ideas
After reviewing your case study and skimming relevant chapters from the ebooks listed above, generate a list of topics or demographic factors that you would need to know more about to provide support for this client. Think about the social, political, cultural, and other factors of the person's identity and experience in the world. Here are some examples to get you started:
- Racial discrimination
- Educational attainment
- Access to health care
- Role of religion and religious practice
These can be your starting points for search terms and phrases. Remember to search for phrases in quotations marks ("racial discrimination"), and keep an open mind about your search results. Scholars may use different terms to discuss similar ideas, and you might see an article that discusses a topic that you didn't originally consider.
Search in databases
- EBSCO Discovery Service This link opens in a new windowEDS, also the giant search box on the home page, is a great starting point for any research topic because it searches across the majority of databases available from the Library to find academic journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, and more.
Search tips:- Don't hesitate to change up your search terms.
- Filter by Format or check the box for Peer Reviewed to limit your results to peer-reviewed journal articles.
- Apply the Publication Date filter to locate more recent sources.
- Filter by Subject to narrow in on your topic.
- Use the Cite button to easily find citation info.
- Watch this video for a brief introduction to EDS.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowThis database includes a broad range of subscription and open access academic journals, including many focused on social work and sociology.
Search tips:- Try starting your search with "social work" AND to find the most relevant articles. Here's an example: "social work" AND "Asian Americans".
- Apply the Publication Date filter to locate more recent sources.
- The Subject filter on this database limits results to journals associated with specific subjects.
- If there is no PDF button displayed, use the Look for It button to search for the full text in another database.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on academic journals and dissertations relevant to social services.
Search tips:- Be sure to filter by Source Type to locate articles from scholarly journals.
- Apply the Publication Date filter to locate more recent sources.
- Use the "More" feature under the Subject filter to curate a list of subjects that you want to either include or exclude from your search results.
- If there is no full-text button or link, use the Look for It button to search for the full text in another database.
Locate relevant statistics
- Census Bureau QuickFacts: Howard CountySee a snapshot of statistics about Howard County as reported by the U.S. Census Bureau. Key statistics include percentage of veterans, foreign-born residents, language spoken at home, and computer and internet use.
- Census Bureau QuickFacts: KokomoSee a snapshot of statistics about Kokomo as reported by the U.S. Census Bureau. Key statistics include percentage of veterans, foreign-born residents, language spoken at home, and computer and internet use.
- Data USA: Howard CountyThis platform maintained by Deloitte, MIT, and Datawheel presents public data and statistics in easy-to-read, interactive infographics and charts. Look at the bottom of each graphic to quickly see and compare data from past years.
- Data USA: KokomoThis platform maintained by Deloitte, MIT, and Datawheel presents public data and statistics in easy-to-read, interactive infographics and charts. Look at the bottom of each graphic to quickly see and compare data from past years.
- STATS IndianaFind relevant, reliable statistics for Indiana counties and regions. Key statistics available here include population demographics, education, housing, employment, and poverty levels.
