News & Popular Publications Guide

This comprehensive news collection features thousands of U.S. and global news sources. It is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos.

Search for specific publications, or use the News button under Guided Search to start locating news articles on your topic.

This database contains magazines, trade and scholarly journals, and some newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.

On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.

Open access newspaper archives.

A digital repository operated by the Indiana State Library that provides an ever-expanding collection of full text, searchable online access to archives of newspapers published in Indiana.

Search across 12 newspaper and journal archival collections at once. Includes: GenderWatch; The Baltimore Afro-American; The Baltimore Sun; The Boston Globe; Chicago Tribune; Detroit Free Press; Los Angeles Times; The New York Times; New York Tribune / Herald Tribune; the The Washington Post; and US Major Dailies (current content for Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post).

This collection of primary source newspapers encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on daily life and culture including such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.