- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to biographies, encyclopedia entries, criticism, and original works for a wide range of authors.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together biographies, encyclopedia entries, journal articles, overviews, and original literary works from a number of literary databases.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis is the quintessential index for publications in literature, allowing broad discovery and including full-text articles from high-impact journals, including American Literature: A Journal of Literary History, Criticism, and Bibliography, Modern Language Quarterly, and Style: A Quarterly Journal of Aesthetics, Poetics, Stylistics, and Literary Criticism.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database largely includes ebooks and journals, including The Kenyon Review, Mississippi Review, and Ploughshares.
- Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database also indexes and provides full-text access to a range of relevant journals, including Criticism, Journal of American Studies, and Literature and Medicine.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
While you can use Google Scholar to search for articles, perhaps its best use is to locate works in conversation with one another. Copy and paste the title of a journal article into Google Scholar, then click on Cited by to locate sources which have cited the original work. If you are looking at a frequently cited work, use the Search within citing articles box.
- BrowZine: Literature JournalsBrowse issues of all relevant journals to which IU Kokomo has access.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new windowIUCAT is the best place to search for books, ebooks, government documents, and more.
- Use broad search terms to give IUCAT the best chance of finding relevant titles.
- Check the All IUCAT box to search across IU libraries. Use the red Request This button to have print materials delivered to the IUK Library.
- Use the Subject filter on the left side of your search results to narrow your search results.
- On the title record page, use the hyperlinked Subject headings to locate additional relevant titles
- You can also use IUCAT to determine if IU Kokomo has access to a specific journal or periodical. Click on Access for Kokomo to locate the database(s) in which full-text articles from that title can be located.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is a global shared catalog that enables easy discovery of a broad range of titles.
- Click on the filter icon to the right of the search bar to open up advanced search options.
- Discover a broad range relevant titles by typing your search terms into the Keyword box.
- Limit your format to Print book to maximize your ability to interlibrary loan titles.
- Select the blue View access options button on the top right to place a request through interlibrary loan.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database is a great source for articles from magazines and other popular publications, including The New Yorker, American Scholar, and Poetry.
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess current and archival issues of the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Some notable literary and review publications:
- American Book ReviewFull text available here in Project Muse.
- BookforumFull text available here in Arts & Humanities Database.
- ForeWordFull text available in Gale Literature Resource Center.
- Los Angeles Review of BooksAvailable for free online.
- The New York Review of BooksFull text available here in MLA International Bibliography with Full Text.
- New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new windowThe online version of The Times, the most comprehensive existing aggregation of information and content created and published by The New York Times.
IU Kokomo users: To register for access, click on the above resource link. Search for or click on Indiana University Kokomo. Click the on-campus link, or click Go for off campus, and then log in with your IU username and passphrase. You will be redirected to the NYT welcome page. Click Create Account. Complete the registration fields. After registering, you will have full account access for 1 year, after which you will simply need to re-register your email address.
Mobile device users: After you create a personal NYT.com account, you can download the New York Times app from your app store, and then use your account on your own device.
If you see a Look for It link:
- This will either take you to the full text in another database or provide a pre-filled form to request the article via interlibrary loan in Tipasa.
- If the link doesn't resolve correctly, follow the steps below.
If you find a citation for a journal article and want to check our collections for full-text:
- Copy and paste "article title" into EDS, or
- Look for the journal in BrowZine and navigate to the cited volume and issue, or
- Search for the journal title in IUCAT and navigate to our online access from there, or
- Email the citation to your librarian.
If you are unable to locate the full-text of an article via EDS, BrowZine, or IUCAT:
- Complete a request form in Tipasa, or
- Email the citation to your librarian.
If you are unable to locate or request a book in IUCAT:
