LibGuides: Education and Social Issues in American Culture: Start Here

Educator-focused sources

Education Database This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest database includes a wide variety of journals, magazines, and trade journals focused on Education. To refine your search results, use the "More" button under each of the filters on the left to include and exclude different source types, document types, and subjects.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off-campus with Network ID.
Vendor: ProQuest

ERIC
ERIC is the classic search tool for research in Education. You can start with simple search terms, or you can use the Thesaurus for a robust listing of descriptive subject terms specific to the field.

Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
This database from EBSCO includes a specialized collection of Education journals, trade publications, and magazines. The filtering tools are more limited in this database, but there is still a very useful Subject filter on the left.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID, as well as to Indiana Residents via INSPIRE.
Vendor: EBSCO, INSPIRE

Databases by Subject: Education
Browse and start your search in all Education-related databases available through the IU Kokomo Library. This listing includes the EBSCO and ProQuest versions of ERIC if you prefer one of those interfaces for your research.

Ad Fontes Media Bias Chart
This tool can be a helpful starting point for understanding the editorial and content perspectives of popular news sources. Remember, just because a source may skew left or right doesn't mean that it's a "bad" source - it just means that you need to put that information into perspective for yourself and your readers. PRO TIP: pay special attention to the y-axis of "news value and reliability" to understand the type of content you are likely to find from a source.

Here are some popular news sources available in full-text for free through the Library:

New York Times Academic Pass This link opens in a new window The online version of The Times, the most comprehensive existing aggregation of information and content created and published by The New York Times. IU Kokomo users: To register for access, click on the above resource link. Search for or click on Indiana University Kokomo. Click the on-campus link, or click Go for off campus, and then log in with your IU username and passphrase. You will be redirected to the NYT welcome page. Click Create Account. Complete the registration fields. After registering, you will have full account access for 1 year, after which you will simply need to re-register your email address. Mobile device users: After you create a personal NYT.com account, you can download the New York Times app from your app store, and then use your account on your own device.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: The New York Times Company

The New Yorker
Add your search terms here to search for articles from The New Yorker in Academic Search Complete.
Reason
Add your search terms here to search for articles from Reason within Academic Search Complete.

Wall Street Journal Online This link opens in a new window Access the world's latest news, business insight, and expert commentary from The Wall Street Journal. This resource allows full access to WSJ.com and Wall Street Journal mobile apps. IU Kokomo users: You will be prompted to register for access upon your first use of the above link. Log in with your IU CAS credentials, and then complete the registration form with your name and email address to set up your account. You should be able to automatically log in (with CAS) thereafter. You can also use your registered account credentials to log in at WSJ.com or on WSJ mobile apps.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID.
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company, Inc.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Access current and archival issues of the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Access available at IU Kokomo and off campus with Network ID
Vendor: ProQuest

USA Today
Add your search terms here to search for articles from USA Today in Academic Search Complete.

If you hit a paywall on a news source on the open web, don't pay for access! Here are some other options:

Copy and paste the link into an incognito or private window on your browser.
Copy and paste the article title into EDS, the large search box on the Library website.
Search for the publication title in IUCAT (available from the Quick Links on the Library website). Click on Access for Kokomo to find the database that includes that publication.
Use the button on the left to send me an email with the article title and link so that I can track it down for you.