Open Access Publishing
- Open Access Button
Open Access Button actually has a search engine where you can enter an article URL, DOI, PMID, Title, Citation, or any other identifying information and it’ll return back a link to the open access version if one is available. Even better, they also have a Google Chrome Browser extension that you can install (also with one click) and which appears in the upper right hand corner of the Chrome Brower ribbon.
- Unpaywall
Unpaywall harvests open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories. Unpaywall is run by Impactstory, a non-profit dedicated to making academic scholarship more accessible and their source code is openly available as well. In fact, Open Access Button actually pulls some of their data from Unpaywall and they are able to do that because Unpaywall is open source. Unpaywall has a browser extension for both Google Chrome and Firefox. So, if you prefer to use Firefox, this tool is the better option.
- Share Your Paper
A drag-and-drop Open Access deposit,
ShareYourPaper.org makes papers Open Access via self-archiving for free. It’s a quick way to increase a research paper’s impact for authors and libraries.
Ask Us
Open Access Definition
Open access is a broad international movement that seeks to grant free and open online access to academic information, such as publications and data. A publication is defined 'open access' when there are no financial, legal or technical barriers to accessing it - that is to say when anyone can read, download, copy, distribute, print, search for and search within the information, or use it in education or in any other way within the legal agreements. --Open Access.nl
The idea of open access gained standing in the early 2000's. With the internet and world wide web, entry into everything information in the mid 1990's, the dream of open access emerged. Research sharing was a strong component of the early web. The idea of openly, freely sharing shared information materials is a concept that libraries, universities, and researchers recognize; essentially, it is what libraries do face-to-face, provide information resources in a cost effective manner for the communities they serve. Open access encompasses the idea of sharing on a global, internet scale and includes several observable, key characteristics. The three points below identify the viewer perspective of Open Access as based on the
- Open Access Publication: Publisher viewpoint --- funds received for providing access
- Open Access Publication: Author viewpoint --- fees paid by authors/institutions to be published
- Freely available publication: Consumer viewpoint---- desire of users of information: access, free-access
OA by Discipline
-
Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection This link opens in a new windowCharles Weever Cushman, amateur photographer and Indiana University alumnus, bequeathed approximately 14,500 Kodachrome color slides to his alma mater. The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time he extensively documented the United States as well as other countries. This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services in partnership with the Indiana University Libraries including the University Archives.
-
David Rumsey Map Collection This link opens in a new windowThe collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1700 to the 1950s.
-
Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of open access e-books from the Getty Publications Archives. This wide variety of books covers the fields of art, photography, conservation, and the humanities.
-
Getty Research Institute This link opens in a new windowThis collection of e-books focuses on history of art, architecture, and archaeology with relevant materials in the humanities and social sciences from prehistory to contemporary art.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowDigitized collections from the 15 universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) plus the University of California system. Full text is available for works in the public domain.
-
Hoosier State Chronicles This link opens in a new windowA digital repository operated by the Indiana State Library that provides an ever-expanding collection of full text, searchable online access to archives of newspapers published in Indiana.
-
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new windowProject Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today. -
Rhizome This link opens in a new windowRhizome champions born-digital art and culture through commissions, exhibitions, scholarship, and digital preservation. Founded by artist Mark Tribe as an email discussion list including some of the first artists to work online, Rhizome has played an integral role in the history of contemporary art engaged with digital technologies and the internet.
-
EconBizEconBiz is a great resource for economic and business studies. A service of the Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, it offers access to full texts online, with the option of searching for OA material only. Their literature search is performed across multiple international databases.
-
Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new windowThe official World Bank open access repository which include books, working papers, studies, journal articles, and other publications of the World Bank.
-
Our World in DataResearch and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems. Our World in Data present the data and research on the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), focusing on data covering poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality.
-
WTO: International DataThe WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
-
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections This link opens in a new windowA free, comprehensive, and searchable database of resources from many disciplines related to child care and early education. The collection includes research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, statistics, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more.
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
-
Inside Higher Ed This link opens in a new windowInside Higher Ed provides the latest news, analysis and solutions for the entire higher education community. Inside Higher Ed is owned by Times Higher Education (THE), the world’s most authoritative source of data, analysis and information on higher education, with five decades’ experience dedicated to the field.
-
BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowProvides full text, peer-reviewed articles pertaining to biomedicine, life sciences, medicine & public health, and more.
-
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants around the world. This resource provides health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions.
-
IARC Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risks to Humans This link opens in a new windowIARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors. National health agencies can use this information as scientific support for their actions to prevent exposure to potential carcinogens.
-
PEDro This link opens in a new windowPEDro has been designed to support the practice of evidence-based physiotherapy. It gives rapid access to the best research evaluating the effects of physiotherapy interventions. Only studies using the most rigorous research methods are indexed: randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
-
REHAB+ This link opens in a new windowREHAB+ is a service made available by the Canadian MSK Rehab Research Network in collaboration with the DeGroote School of Medicine's Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence & Impact Health Information Research Unit. The resource includes an email alerting system. And a searchable database of best evidence from the health care literature of particular interest to rehabilitation professionals. To search the database, you must sign in or register.
-
REHABDATA This link opens in a new windowREHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
-
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new windowA collection of open access and peer-reviewed journals that covers all disciplines within the science, technology, and medicine fields.
-
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowA gateway to open access journals and articles from the Thieme Group. This collection of peer reviewed journals provides scientific information in the fields of medicine, chemistry, and informatics.
-
Cambridge University Press Open Access This link opens in a new windowCollection of Open Access e-Journals published by Cambridge University Press.
-
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowOpen access scientific and scholarly journals.
-
J-Stage This link opens in a new windowJ-STAGE is a platform for scholarly publications in Japan. It is developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). JST launched J-STAGE with the aim to:
- rapidly circulate research in science, technology, humanities and social sciences in Japan.
- strengthen the international dissemination of information from Japan to the rest of the world.
- promote the publication of open access content from Japan's academic societies and research organizations. -
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of textbooks that have been funded, published, and distributed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books can be downloaded for no cost or printed for low cost. Textbooks span multiple disciplines, including Business, Computer Science & Information Systems, Education, Humanities, Media Studies & Communications, Social Sciences, and more.
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. The records encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aqua culture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
-
Milne Open Textbooks This link opens in a new windowOpen access textbooks on various subjects including mathematics, sciences, and writing.
-
SCOAP3 This link opens in a new window"SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of over three thousand libraries, key funding agencies and research centers in 44 countries, regions or territories and three intergovernmental organizations. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access and continues to support OA publishing in these journals at no cost for authors. In addition, existing Open Access journals and even books and monographs are centrally supported, removing existing financial barrier for authors and allowing a free and easy scientific discourse in High-Energy Physics. Each country, region or territory contributes in a way commensurate to its scientific output in the field."
-
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new windowA collection of open access and peer-reviewed journals that covers all disciplines within the science, technology, and medicine fields.
-
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowA gateway to open access journals and articles from the Thieme Group. This collection of peer reviewed journals provides scientific information in the fields of medicine, chemistry, and informatics.
-
American Prison Newspapers This link opens in a new windowOn March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
-
Getty Research Institute This link opens in a new windowThis collection of e-books focuses on history of art, architecture, and archaeology with relevant materials in the humanities and social sciences from prehistory to contemporary art.
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowThis is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Open Access Tools
- Foster Open Science: OA Publishing in Context of Open Science
This course helps you to become skilled in Open Access (OA) publishing in the context of Open Science. By the end of the course, you will:
- understand how to publish your work openly and be aware of the advantages
- be able to find an OA publisher for your research
- know how to find a suitable repository to provide - OA and archive your work
- know how to publish OA monographs
- understand funders' expectations and policies on OA
- be able to secure funding for Article Processing Charges (APCs) where applicable - Sherpa Romeo
This is a free an online tool that allows you to look up OA policies held by different publishers. If there is discrepancy between what Sherpa Romeo states and the publisher site, also abide by what's stated at the publisher site.
