Learn About Food Insecurity
Use the resources in this guide to learn more about the issue of food insecurity, find out where to get food assistance, or where and how you can help.
Data Research Tools
From the USDA Economic Research Service:
Food Access Research Atlas (link) presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; Provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
State Facts Sheets (link) provide information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment/unemployment, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports. Links to available county-level data are included.
- Kokomo Food Deserts
Created with the Food Access Research Atlas.
Areas in green are low-income 2015 census tracts in Kokomo where a significant number or share of residents is more than 1 mile (urban) or 10 miles (rural) from the nearest supermarket.
Select Library Resources
Read: Household Food Security in the United States in 2018 (USDA Research Report)
Find Recent eBooks on "food insecurity" in IUCAT
Search for articles and other sources in these databases:
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library. The records encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aqua culture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. - Economic Research Service This link opens in a new windowThe mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new windowA rich collection of primary content, such as full text books and ephemera as well as images and videos, that explores how food shapes the world around us. Example topics include organic farming, childhood nutrition, U.S. food programs during World War II, famine, and food habits around the world.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides full text consumer health periodicals, such as Golf Digest and Natural Health, on topics including nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, childcare, and drug and alcohol abuse. The database also includes magazines, reviews, pamphlets, and e-books.
