Skip to main content

Staying Connected with IU Kokomo

Libguide is a way to connect with those that are participating in the summer outreach program

Virtual and Live Steam options

undefined

What would summer be without reading?  Staying Connected with IU Kokomo is encouraging reading not only to earn points for badges but for every book read between July 20 - August 21 a donation of one item will be made to the Cougar Cupboard.

Here's how it works:

  • Read/listen to one or more books, e-books and/or audiobooks of your choice, no matter how many pages or what genre
  • Turn in this form, https://iuk.libwizard.com/f/Cougar_Cupboard_Donation_Form
  • The first three books you read will earn three points each
  • A donation of one item will be made to the Cougar Cupboard in your honor for every book, e-book or audiobook you read

It's that simple.

So ready, set, READ and together we can pack the Cougar Cupboard!

 

Upcoming Event:

 

   undefinedAugust 20, 2 - 2:30p                Back by popular demand!
   Points: 3

  Zoom Link: https://go.iu.edu/2YZ6
                              Join us for live trivia on Kahoot! with questions ranging from back to campus and general
                               trivia questions. The Kahoot! pin will be shared in the Zoom room,
                              Join in your browser or through the Kahoot! app from Google Play or the App Store.

 

Like a reminder the day before the event, click this link https://iuk.libwizard.com/f/Staying_Connected_Event_Reminder

 



Past Events:

undefined   July 23, 2 - 2:30p
   Points: 3

  Zoom Link: https://go.iu.edu/2YZ6
                              Join us for live trivia on Kahoot! with questions ranging from state and local facts to general
                               trivia questions. The Kahoot! pin will be shared in the Zoom room,
                              Join in your browser or through the Kahoot! app from Google Play or the App Store.


undefinedPath Towards Landing Your Dream Job
July 30, 2 - 3p
Points: 3

Zoom Link: https://go.iu.edu/2YZ6
                                   Join us to learn more about IU Kokomo's Career Center.  We will be watching some YouTube videos,    
                                   introduce Ascend and Handshake, and provide you lots of resources to land that perfect job!

 


undefinedArt and You
August 6, 2 -3p

Points: 3

Zoom Link: https://go.iu.edu/2YZ6


Learn the basics of design to create a personal logo or family crest with Jake Scheffler, a senior in the NMAT program.  Jake will be helping you create your design in Word, so bring your computer/laptop along
                            with a few pictures/icons that represent present you or your family.

  Like a reminder the day before the event, click this link https://iuk.libwizard.com/f/Staying_Connected_Event_Reminder

 


undefinedWalk and Talk
August
12,  9 - 9:45a
Points: 3

Zoom Link: https://go.iu.edu/2YZ6
What could be more fun than walking with fellow IU Kokomo community members via Zoom!  Join
Laura Bain-Selbo, IU Kokomo's Resource Navigator, her dog Zoe and others on a walk and talk. 
No registration required just click on the zoom link and start walking and talking.

Like a reminder the day before the event, click this link https://iuk.libwizard.com/f/Staying_Connected_Event_Reminder

Virtual Event Description Points
DACA @ IU Town Hall View a town hall discussion concerning the recent decision by the U.S. Supreme Court
concerning DACA.
https://broadcast.iu.edu/events/IU_webinar_2020-06-25.html
3 pts
IU Music Live! Enjoy various types of music from the IU Jacobs School of Music,
https://iumusiclive.music.indiana.edu/ondemand

3 pts
Virtual Event Description Points
Locate an e-journal on Browzine through the
IU Kokomo Library website

How to locate an e-journal

  • Go to www.iuk.edu/library
  • Scroll down to Quick Links
  • Click on "Find an E-Journal"
  • This will take you to Browzine where you can browse and read
    electronic journals in a magazine-like format.
2 pts
Mango Languages

Check out Mango Languages to learn a new language, such as Spanish,
Swahili, Shakespeare, or even Ancient Greek, to name a few of the 70 options.
 
This resource is free to IU Kokomo on IU Kokomo’s website under Databases A-Z,
https://iuk.libguides.com/az.php?a=m&q=Mango 

2 pts
Red Chair Videos Choose two videos to hear what students, staff and faculty have to say about
IU Kokomo,
2 pts each for a
possible total
of 4 pts
IU Kokomo Equality project

See what others on campus have to say about equality
https://www.iuk.edu/diversity/equality-project/index.html  

2 pts
IU Kokomo Zoom Background

Download a Zoom IU Kokomo Background courtesy of IU Kokomo Media and Marketing and
the IU Kokomo Archives

IU Kokomo Media and Marketing

  • https://iu.app.box.com/s/2hf10ypczyiammujdnqjhcyvh4tez24o

IU Kokomo Archives

2 pts
The Phoenix: Faculty Features Check out and watch two videos about what some of IU Kokomo's faculty have been up to.
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=The+Phoenix%3A+Faculty+Features
2 pts each for a
possible total
of 4 pts
Write something Write a poem, journal entry, short story or start the great American novel 2 pts
Ancestry.com

Check out this totally awesome database, courtesy of the IU Kokomo Library, to learn about your history.  It is free to all students, staff and faculty.

To start your adventure:

  • Go to www.iuk.edu/library
  • Scroll down to Quick Links
  • Click on "Databases A-Z"
  • Click on the letter "A"
  • Scroll down till you see Ancestry.com
2 pts
Puzzles, puzzles, who doesn't love puzzles!

Try these IU Kokomo puzzles

2 pts each
Streaming Videos

Watch a streaming video on the IU Kokomo Library website

  • Go to www.iuk.edu/library
  • Scroll down to Quick Links
  • Click on "Databases A-Z"
  • In the search box click on the down arrow next to "All Database Types" and select "Streaming Videos" from the list
  • Select a database and enjoy!
2 pts

Virtual Event Description Points

Virtual scavenger hunt 

1 pt

Computer Mini Vacations – No planning, packing or transportation needed, just click
on a link and off you go!
 

1 pt each for a total of
5 pts

Suggest  books, e-books or audio books for others to read Fill out the form and get one pt for each suggestion,
https://iuk.libwizard.com/f/BookSuggestion_Staying_Connected_with_IUKokomo

 

1 pt per suggestion
Try a new recipe

Trying a new recipe can be fun!
Don't know where to start,

1 pt
Visit a virtual museum

National Museum of African American History & Culture:
https://nmaahc.si.edu/
  

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History:
https://naturalhistory2.si.edu/vt3/NMNH/z_tour-069.html 

Musée d’Orsay, Paris:
https://bit.ly/2Ol90PR

Museum of Science and Industry:
https://www.msichicago.org/explore/ 

1 pt each for a total of 5 pts
Go for a walk Go for at least a 15-minute walk, up to 4 times between July 20 - August 14 1 pt each for a
possible total
of 4 pts
Read a poem Read any poem or choose one from  https://www.poetryfoundation.org 1 pt
IU logo
Indiana University Kokomo
Canvas
One.IU
Outlook Web Access
IU Directory
IU Knowledge Base
IUCAT
Indiana University Libraries Privacy Policy
UITS Privacy Policy
Copyright Complaints
Copyright © 2019 The Trustees of Indiana University
Indiana University Kokomo Library
2300 S Washington St, Kokomo, IN 46904
Ph: (765) 455-9513