Go to www.iuk.edu home page Go to IU Kokomo Library home page
This is the "Dictionaries and Encyclopedias" page of the "Nursing Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing Research Guide  

Use this LibGuide to find nursing-related resources available at the IU Kokomo Library.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2014 URL: http://iuk.libguides.com/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Dictionaries

Cover Art
American Heritage Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781849722025
Publication Date: 2007
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research - Bethel Ann Powers; Thomas R. Knapp
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780826106650
Publication Date: 2011
Presents definitions and discussions of terms commonly encountered in nursing science literature. The previous edition is available in Stacks RT81.5 .P69 2006.

Cover Art
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Online and R121 .D73 2007 Stacks
ISBN: 9781849723480
Publication Date: 2008
A comprehensive and authoritative medical dictionary with a special “Fundamentals of Medical Etymology” section.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health
Call Number: R121 .E539 2005 Reference
ISBN: 1416026045
Miller-Keane authoritative guide to the language of medicine and science.

Cover Art
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations - Stanley Jablonski
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781849724050
Publication Date: 2009
The dictionary lists acronyms and abbreviations occurring in the literature of medicine and health care professions.

Cover Art
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780323049375
Publication Date: 2009
Provides authoritative, up-to-date information concerning health and health care terminology.

Cover Art
Mosby’s Medical Dictionary
Call Number: R121 .M89 2009 Reference
ISBN: 0323052908
Publication Date: 2009
An all-in-one reference that features medical definitions and full-color illustrations. Also includes quick-reference information.

Cover Art
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0781733901
Publication Date: 2006
A comprehensive and authoritative medical dictionary that is well illustrated, including 126 tables placed throughout the textbook and 24 color plates grouped in the center. Older editions are available in the Stacks R121 .S8.

Cover Art
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
Call Number: R121 .S8 2012 Reference
ISBN: 9781608316922
Publication Date: 2012
Contains the medical terminology used in today's health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field.

 

Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0028657748
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set which provides well-balanced, informative articles on the moral and ethical dimensions of modern medicine, science and technology. 2005 available in Stacks R121 .E539 2005.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research - Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Meredith Wallace Kazer
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780826107503
Publication Date: 2012
Comprehensive guide to existing nursing research literature since 1983.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - Laurie J. Fundukian (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781414448725
Publication Date: 2009
Accessible to the layperson, this four-volume reference contains approximately 800 entries on treating illnesses using alternative medicine, the theory and practice of various alternative cures, and the herbs and remedies employed.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine - Jacqueline L. Longe; Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781414403687
Publication Date: 2006
Written by healthcare professionals who translated medical disorders, conditions, tests and treatments into easy-to-read articles of one to ten pages. This content and updated information may be found by searching the following databases: Health & Wellness Resource Center, Health Reference Center Academic, and Nursing Resource Center.

Cover Art
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: RT31 .S66 1999 Reference
ISBN: 1576070867
Presents the backgrounds and careers of noted healers, including particular healing methods of ethnic groups, innovations of treatment and the war on disease.

Cover Art
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Call Number: Online and HQ1073 .M33 2003 Stacks
ISBN: 002865689X
Publication Date: 2003
This 2 volume set with more than 400 entries covers biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious and philosophical aspects of death and dying. An appendix provides general overviews and contact information for about 80 organizations.

Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide - Brandon P. Brown
Call Number: RC41 .M34 2011 Reference
ISBN: 9781587656774
An overview of the health care field including major disorders or diseases and the basic medical sciences and professions. Online access is also available via a link in the catalog record.

 

Biography

For more comprehensive information about specific nurse theorists see the "Nurse Theorists & Nursing Theories" guide.

Cover Art
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: RT34 .A44 Reference
ISBN: 0826111475
Publication Date: 1988-2000
Biographies of important figures in the nursing field. Three volumes, volume 3 is also available online.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American Nursing Biography
Call Number: RT 34 .D53 1988 Reference
ISBN: 0313245207
Contains 196 biographies of important persons in the history of nursing from the mid-nineteenth century to 1987.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip