- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers
19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society. Includes some materials from Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
- 19th Century UK Periodicals
Primary sources for the study of 19th century history. A multi-part series of digitized versions of key 19th century United Kingdom periodicals which includes colonial and missionary publications depicting all aspects of life, literature, and culture.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database that indexes and includes full-text to scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Acta Sanctorum
This resource contains the full text of the Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Published over the course of three hundred years by the Societé de Bollandistes, the sixty-eight volumes cover the lives of saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century.
- African American Poetry, 1750-1900
African American Poetry contains poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types, including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
- African Writers Series
This resource offers key texts of modern African literature, including works of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose. Includes works by such writers as Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, and Nelson Mandela.
- Alexander Street Press Databases
A collection of databases from Alexander Street Press.
- America: History and Life
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Drama 1714-1915
Contains American dramatic works (1714-1915) including plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and other genres.
- American Film Institute Catalog
Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute, this online resource includes the entire print version of the AFI Catalog, documenting films produced in the United States from 1892 to 1973. Also includes the Institute’s Top Ten Films from 2000-2007.
- American Film Scripts Online
A collection of accurate and authorized copyrighted screenplays from major studios, rights holders, and writers. The primary focus is on the written work, including structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes.
- American Periodicals
This database contains magazines, trade and scholarly journals, and some newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.
- American Poetry
The primary focus is on the written work including structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes.
- Annual Bibliography of English Literature and Language
Bibliography covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
- Asian American Drama
Plays along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, providing a comprehensive overview of Asian American drama.
- Australian Literary and Historical Texts collection
A collection of primary source texts and associated images.
- Bertolt Brechts Werke
The first authorized electronic edition of Brecht’s writings, Bertolt Brechts Werke comprises the poetry, drama, and major critical writings contained in Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden.
- Bible in English
This database contains 20 different versions of the English Bible, including 12 full Bibles, five New Testament texts, two versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale’s translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah, and the New Testament.
- Black Drama: 1850 to the Present
Full- text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present.
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore
A collection of African and the African Diaspora which includes stories, fables, folktales (some previously unpublished), and literary magazines from several countries from the mid 1900’s to the present.
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community.
- Black Women Writers
A collection of fiction, poetry, and essays by Black women writers from Africa, North America, Europe, and the Caribbean some dating back to the 18th century.
- Bloom's Literature
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
- Book Review Index Online
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, From 1500-1950
Largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
- British Newspapers 1600-1950
The British Newspapers 1600-1950 is a significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.
- British Periodicals
Digital archives of British periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered in Collection I include fine arts, history, literature, philosophy, science, and the social sciences. Collection II includes archaeology, architecture, art, drama, literature, and music.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Bibliographic index with some full text to 19th century research which provides integrated access to the most important finding aids for books, periodical, official publications, newspapers, and archives.
- Caribbean Literature
Caribbean Literature comprises more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, interviews, photographs, and audio files by the most important writers of the Caribbean. Works appear in their original languages.
- Clearinghouse Books
A collection of open access scholarly books, including original titles and edited collections, that address writing across the curriculum.
- Contemporary Authors Online
Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on U.S. and international authors.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference (formerly xreferplus) is a collection of reference books from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles, and publishers. The collection covers major subject fields, including art, medicine, history, technology, and more. The collection features: audio pronunciation files; art, science, and medical images; and atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Historical archive of the Daily Mail, a major United Kingdom newspaper, that can be viewed in a full digital facsimile form. The newspaper includes advertisements, news stories, and images that capture the culture and society of the time.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) series it includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series.
- Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
This resource offers an electronic version of texts published since 1981 by the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag, or the German Classical Publishing Company. Included are major German-language poetry and novels, as well as historical, philosophical, theological, and political texts.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Open access scientific and scholarly journals.
- Drama for Students
An online version of the Drama for Students series which presents analysis, context, and criticism of commonly studied dramas. Each entry will include: an author biography, plot summary, characters, themes, style, historical context, critical overview, criticism, and a list of sources.
- Early American Fiction
Early American Fictionis a collection of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1875 by authors of significance. The full-text of each work is fully searchable, and page images of the original editions are available.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
- Early English Prose Fiction
Early English Prose Fiction contains works in English by prose writers from the British Isles in the 16th and 17th centuries. The collection includes Elizabethan fiction, Jest Books, collections of short pieces and novellas, Restoration fiction, and works of popular fiction.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of Indiana University electronic books (eBooks) as well as thousands of public domain titles.
- Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
This database contains the complete text of 11 major editions of Shakespeare’s works, from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66. In also includes 24 separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, as well as more than 200 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, over 180,000 titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction
Eighteenth-Century Fiction is a collection of 96 works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. The authors and works were selected to provide a representative view of the prose fiction of the period.
- English Drama
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas.
- English Poetry
The English Poetry database contains works by more than 1,350 British, Irish, Scottish, and Welsh poets from the Anglo-Saxon period through the end of the Nineteenth century. Poets included have been selected from The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
- Film Index International
Indexing films from over 170 countries, this resource is based upon the British Film Institute’s Summary of Information on Film and Television database, and covers world cinema from 1930 to the present.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
An e-book collection which provides full-text access to reference titles including the American Men and Women of Science, International Directory of Company Histories, Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television, Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students,
and West’s Encyclopedia of American Law.
Individual titles have records in the online catalog, IUCAT, with active links.Download PDFs from GVRL to your e-reader
- Goethes Werke
This database contains the complete text of the 143 volumes of the Weimar Edition, as well as Goethe’s literary and scientific works, his diaries, letters, and also illustrations, notes and indexes from the published volumes.
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912
Harper's Weekly was the definitive newspaper of record for the latter part of the 19th century and early 20th. This is the electronic form of the newspaper for 1857-1912, and it includes illustrations, maps, editorials, international coverage, and American and English literature and verse.
- International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text
IIPA indexes scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, in addition to providing biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews, and event coverage.
- Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Containing more than eighty volumes of poetry by Irish women written in the period between 1768 and 1842, this database not only provides poetic texts, but also biographical and critical essays to accompany the works. Includes such poets as Henrietta Battier, Adelaide O’Keeffe, and Elizabeth Ryves.
Offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections of searchable full-text from historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business. Includes JSTOR I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, and X Collections
plus the Arts and Sciences Complement
and Free Early Journal Content Collection
. Indiana University Alumni Association members
may access this resource by logging in to MyIU
- Latin American Women Writers
A collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also includes essays by Latin American feminists, who address concerns of women of every age.
- Latino Literature
Comprehensive collection of Latino Literature includes fiction, poetry, and plays. (Formerly named "Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction".)
- Literary Index
A master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross references author names (including pseudonyms and variant names) and titles in one source.
- Literature Criticism Online
Online compilation of Gale Literary Criticism series including: Children’s Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content, it is the premier Internet resource for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Full-text poems, stories, essays, speeches, and plays.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information on journals currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
- MLA International Bibliography
Language and literature bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
- MLA Literary Research Guide
The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Scholarly digitized collections of nineteenth century primary resources. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. The collections that are currently available are: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including previously unpublished materials and Ellis Island Oral History interviews.
- North American Women's Drama
Plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
Largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years from Colonial times to 1950.
- Novels for Students
An online version of the Novels for Students series which presents analysis, context, and criticism of commonly studied novels. Each entry will include: an author biography, plot summary, characters, themes, style, historical context, critical overview, criticism, and a list of sources.
- Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL)
A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Authoritative dictionary on the evolution of the English language, an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium
Collection of reference dictionaries and handbooks on a wide range of subjects by Oxford University Press.
- Patrologia Latina Database
The Patrologia Latina comprises the work of the Church Fathers from Tertullian and 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. This resource contains the complete text, as well as prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) provides access to a comprehensive collection of journals published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. The scope is international, with journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and other Western languages.
- Poetry for Students
An online version of the Poetry for Students series which presents analysis, context, and criticism of commonly studied poems. Each entry will include: an author biography, poem text and summary, themes, style, historical context, critical overview, criticism, and a list of sources.
- Project MUSE
Collection of scholarly academic electronic journals which covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others in the humanities and social sciences. Indiana University Alumni Association members
may access this resource by logging in to MyIU
Scopus, an abstract and citation database, delivers the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Focuses on poems by Scottish women during the Romantic period.
- Short Stories for Students
An online version of the Short Stories for Students series which presents analysis, context, and criticism of commonly studied short stories. Each entry will include: an author biography, plot summary, characters, themes, style, historical context, critical overview, criticism, and a list of sources.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974
Letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and other rare materials documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America—vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next.
- Something About the Author Online
This resource examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults. This online version of the series Something About the Author includes sidelights about the author or illustrator as well as lists of biographical and critical sources.
- South and Southeast Asian Literature: Classic and Postcolonial Writers in English, 1825-Present
A searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors who are from or who identify culturally with South and Southeastern Asia, including the countries of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Also includes author interviews and manuscript materials.
A guide to interactive resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 curriculum. Resources include movies of authors and illustrators, and audio excerpts of professional book readings.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
TLS, Times Literary Supplement, is a literary weekly that provides comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications of leading writers and thinkers, in every subject, in several languages as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music and exhibitions.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
Twentieth-Century American Poetry is a considerable collection of poetry which gives readers a unique survey of movements, schools, and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary American poetry. The entire text of each poem has been included, as well as any accompanying text forming an integral part of the poetry, such as dedications, notes, prefaces, acknowledgments, and epigraphs.
- Twentieth Century North American Drama
A collection of plays together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and includes selected playbills and production photographs.
- Underground and Independent Comics
A scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes works of artists, interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form.
- Web of Science
Web of Science platform provides access to scholarly materials covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The Web Of Science Core Collection includes these citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1995 to present.
- Wright American Fiction 1851-1875
A collection of 19th century American fiction as listed in Lyle Wright’s American Fiction, 1851-1875. The collection consists of adult fiction, novels, novelettes, romances, short stories, tall tales, tract-like tales, allegories, and fictitious biographies and travels.