Go to www.iuk.edu home page Go to IU Kokomo Library home page
This is the "Fitness & Exercise" page of the "Health Sciences Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Sciences Research Guide  

Resources in the health sciences including fitness and exercise, health and wellness, health promotion, and nutrition.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2013 URL: http://iuk.libguides.com/healthsciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Fitness & Exercise Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fitness & Exercise Videos

Cover Art
Rx Nutrition: Eating for Improved Performance in Life, Fitness, and Sport
Call Number: RA784 .R9 2010 DVDs
An educational and motivational 3-DVD set by Dr. Rick Kattouf will get you on track to a high performance lifestyle. By debunking myths food and weight loss, Dr. Rick looks at several variable that will influence body composition and will affect your daily performance.

Cover Art
Sports Ingjuries: Classification and Management
Call Number: Online Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2011
This program offers comprehensive guidance in classifying and responding to athletic injuries.

 

Fitness & Exercise

Cover Art
Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription - Vivian H. Heyward
Call Number: GV436 .H48 2010 Stacks
ISBN: 0736086595
Publication Date: 2010
Built around physical fitness components, this text shows readers first how to assess each component and then how to design exercise programs based on that assessment. Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription synthesizes concepts and theories from exercise physiology, kinesiology, measurement, psychology, and nutrition to provide a clearly defined approach to physical fitness testing and the design of individualized exercise programs. Unlike other introductory texts, which typically focus on field testing for evaluating physical fitness, this text includes both field and laboratory assessment techniques. This user-friendly text offers the latest physical activity and exercise recommendations for health benefits, weight loss, and weight maintenance as well as practical guidelines for designing individualized exercise programs for your clients.

Cover Art
Exercise and Wellness for Older Adults - Kay A. Van Norman
Call Number: GV482.6 .V36 2010 Stacks
ISBN: 0736057684
Publication Date: 2010
The author introduces the whole-person wellness concept, which fully engages individuals and helps them succeed in their pursuit of lifelong health and well-being. Specific strategies and exercises are presented to help professionals integrate the six dimensions of wellness (physical, social, emotional, intellectual, spiritual, and vocational) into their programs. This edition includes a new chapter on identifying and overcoming the unseen or overlooked psychosocial barriers to participation in wellness programs and engaging adults in healthy habits. It also offers new information on program development, including techniques for creating and promoting programs in both senior living and community-based environments.

Cover Art
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook - Laura Larsen (Editor)
Call Number: GV436 .F53 2011 Stacks
ISBN: 0780811429
Publication Date: 2010
The fourth updated edition of Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook provides updated information about the health benefits of physical activity, discussing guidelines for physical fitness at all age levels and including the latest information about physical activity for all levels, including those with chronic diseases or disabilities. From the health benefits of physical activity for guidelines for fitness and fitness safety, this packs in a range of topics key to any health library.

Cover Art
Movement Discovery - Andrea Boucher; Evelyn Wiseman
Call Number: GV443 .B68 2011 Stacks
ISBN: 0763750417
Publication Date: 2010
Written to help early childhood and elementary school teachers value simple, strenuous, and enjoyable activity, this text provides the foundation they'll need to give such experiences to young children. This text includes: background information to provide an understanding of why programs are as they are; information about child development and skill development to give guidance to teachers; material to start an on-going Movement Discovery program that capitalizes on the innate human urge to discover ones' physical capacities and enjoy them. Movement Discovery encourages teachers to provide challenging yet gratifying physical education lessons. If students can derive satisfaction in their increase in skill, and if these skills have a link with their future education and the world in which they live, there is a good possibility that activity will continue throughout life.

Cover Art
Physique, Fitness, and Performance - Thomas Battinelli
Call Number: QP301 .B364 2007 Stacks
ISBN: 0849391970
Publication Date: 2007
Establishing a background and history for the current prevalent interrelationships between physique and physical performance, the book begins by outlining the morphological, physical, motor, and metabolic component areas of study involved in physical training. Part One introduces the study of the structure-function relationships, relating body structure, size, and composition to fitness and physical performance. Part Two and Part Three present an overview of the quantitative and qualitative study of physical and physiological conditioning, motor learning, and motor control, specifically regarding the development of motor skill within general/open loop and specific/closed loop parameter guidelines. It also covers fatigue and its physiological and psychological effects on training processes. Part Four explores nutrition and the utilization of carbohydrates, fats, proteins, water, vitamins, and minerals during physical training. It includes an overview of lipids, lipoproteins, cholesterol, and atherosclerosis; dietary goals and guidelines; and risk factors relating to heart disease and obesity within health and fitness parameter guidelines. Finally, extensive appendices present the pertinent figures, tables, and forms used in evaluation and programming.

Cover Art
Sports Injuries Sourcebook - Sandra J. Judd (Editor)
Call Number: RD97 .S736 2007 Stacks
ISBN: 0780809491
Publication Date: 2007
Basic Consumer Health Information about Sprains and Strains, Fractures, Growth Plate Injuries, Overtraining Injuries, and Injuries to the Head, Face, Shoulders, Elbows, Hands, Spinal Column, Knees, Ankles, and Feet, and with Facts about Dehydration and Heat-Related Illness, Steroids and Sport Supplements, Protective Equipment, Diagnostic Procedures, Treatment Options, and Rehabilitation.

Along with a Glossary of Related Terms and a Directory of Resources for Additional Help and Information.

Cover Art
Understanding Fitness - Julie K. Silver (Editor); Christopher Morin (Editor)
Call Number: RA781 .U53 2008 Stacks
ISBN: 0275994945
Publication Date: 2008
“Editors Silver (Harvard Medical School) and Morin (founder, American Fitness Testing Association) have assembled an impressive cadre of writers for this title in The Praeger Series on Contemporary Health and Livnig. This volume will be a necessary text for schools with programs in sports medicine, athletic training, premedicine, and physical therapy. It starts with an excellent, detailed overview of the history of exercise in health....Understanding Fitness fills a significant gap for readers in general concerning how exercise improices health....Essential.”–Choice

 

Ask A Librarian

Ask A Librarian
Service Desk

Located near the library entrance

Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:30 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Friday by appointment
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Phone:
(765) 455-9521

E-mail: iuklib@iuk.edu

Chat: Use Microsoft Lync to chat
with a librarian at iuklib or
IUK Library - Ask A Librarian.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip