- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database that indexes and includes full-text to scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- Alexander Street Video
A cross-searchable platform for streaming video collections. Search content covering American history, education, ethnic studies, world history, multidisciplinary documentaries, the arts, and more.
- America: History and Life
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Periodicals
This database contains magazines, trade and scholarly journals, and some newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines and many other historically significant periodicals.
- Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities
Directories of academic journal publishing opportunities in the following areas: Business, Computer Science, Education, Health Administration, Nursing, and Psychology. The directories provide current information on journals (address, phone, e-mail, and Web site) as well as guidelines, submission information and the review process.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
A free, comprehensive, and searchable database of resources from many disciplines related to child care and early education including policy information. The collection includes research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, statistics, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents and more.
- Chronicle of Higher Education, The
The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes a searchable archive of every issue published since September 1989.
- Clearinghouse Books
A collection of open access scholarly books, including original titles and edited collections, that address writing across the curriculum.
- CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. The single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
- ebrary Academic Complete
A multidisciplinary collection of e-books from all subject areas, including business, education, history, life sciences, social sciences, and more.
(How to download Ebrary e-books
- Education in Video
Online collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Video titles include teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms which provide sources for the research-based professional development videos. Many of the videos have teaching and discussion guides available for download.
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC), is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The Educational Resource Information Center, contains digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
An e-book collection which provides full-text access to reference titles including the American Men and Women of Science, International Directory of Company Histories, Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television, Poetry for Students, Short Stories for Students,
and West’s Encyclopedia of American Law.
Individual titles have records in the online catalog, IUCAT, with active links.Download PDFs from GVRL to your e-reader
Offers both multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections of searchable full-text from historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business. Includes JSTOR I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, and X Collections
plus the Arts and Sciences Complement
and Free Early Journal Content Collection
. Indiana University Alumni Association members
may access this resource by logging in to MyIU
- National Academies Press (NAP)
The National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council) offer free downloadable PDFs of publications.
- Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. The most comprehensive collection of full-text education journals in the world.
- ProQuest Education Journals
Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database provides access to education journals that cover primary, secondary, and higher education, but also special education, home schooling, and adult education.
- SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. All content may be searched but access to full text content may be limited to specific titles.
- Science in Context
A curriculum-oriented science database that focuses on key science topics and concepts in the earth sciences, history of science, life sciences, physical sciences, and more. Content includes full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted Web sites. National and state science curriculum standards links are available under Resources link.
Scopus, an abstract and citation database, delivers the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Southern Poverty Law Center (SPLC) Publications
The Southern Poverty Law Center is a nonprofit civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry. It is internationally known for tracking and exposing the activities of hate groups. The Teaching Tolerance program produces and distributes (free of charge) documentary films, books, lesson plans and other materials that promote tolerance and respect in the nation’s schools.
- Teacher Reference Center
This index provides coverage on key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science & mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.
A guide to interactive resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 curriculum. Resources include movies of authors and illustrators, and audio excerpts of professional book readings.
- Testing & Education Reference Center
Peterson college search and selections tools, practice tests and courses, resume builder, financial aid and scholarship tools, language proficiency exams, practice sets for U.S. citizenship test, and many other resources to support college and career decision making. To use parts of the database, you will be required to register and create an individual account.
- Web of Science
Web of Science platform provides access to scholarly materials covering the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. The Web Of Science Core Collection includes these citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1995 to present.
- Wiley Online Library
A collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It includes full-text to journal articles, books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.