Go to www.iuk.edu home page Go to IU Kokomo Library home page
This is the "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" page of the "Criminal Justice Research Guide " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice Research Guide  

Selected criminal justice related resources available to IU Kokomo students.
Last Updated: May 20, 2014 URL: http://iuk.libguides.com/criminaljustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Child Abuse

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse, The - Robin E. Clark; Judith Freeman Clark; Christine A. Adamec; Richard J. Gelles (Introduction by)
Call Number: HV6626.5 .C57 2001 Stacks
ISBN: 0816040605
Publication Date: 2000
This one-volume reference addresses the issue of child abuse from a multi-disciplinary perspective. An extensive bibliography is included.

 

Community Policing

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving - Kenneth J. Peak (Editor)
Call Number: HV7936 .C83E53 2013 Stacks
ISBN: 9781452235295
Publication Date: 2013

 

Terrorism

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism - Sean K. Anderson; Stephen Sloan
Call Number: Online and HV6431 .A537 Reference, both 2009
ISBN: 0810857642
Publication Date: 2009
Offers information on major terrorist groups, their leaders and ideologies, significant terrorist incidents, and the weapons employed by terrorist groups. Weapons of mass destruction and cyber warfare are also addressed.

Cover Art
SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, The - C. (Clarence) Augustus (Gus) Martin (Editor)
Call Number: HV6431 .S225 2011 Reference
ISBN: 141298016X
Publication Date: 2011
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism includes introductory essays that explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion, and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered.

 

Crime and Criminal Justice

Cover Art
American Dictionary of Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Court Cases, The - Dean John Champion
Call Number: HV7411 .C48 2005 Reference
ISBN: 1931719330
Publication Date: 2004
This reference describes key terms and concepts including criminology, criminal justice, corrections, probation/parole, juvenile justice, policing, and many other subjects. The most recent Unites States Supreme Court cases are summarized and their impact analyzed.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Crime, The - Carl Sifakis
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0816040400
Publication Date: 2000
A reference work describing crimes, criminals, lawyers, and lawmen. It contains 182 photos and illustrations. This book has 2,000 well-written entries.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by); Joshua Dressler (Editor)
Call Number: Online and HV6017 .E52 2002 Stacks
ISBN: 002865319X
Publication Date: 2001
Discusses the many different kinds of crimes, law enforcement, legal procedures, penalties, and the social causes and wide-ranging impact of crimes on society.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment - David Levinson
Call Number: HV6017 .E524 2002 Reference
ISBN: 076192258X
Publication Date: 2002
Provides comprehensive and balanced coverage on concepts and theories, corrections, law, crimes, methods and statistics, national surveys, police science and other subjects.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour - Clifton D. Bryant
Call Number: HV6017 .E53 2001 Reference
ISBN: 1560327723
Publication Date: 2000
Provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues, crime and juvenile delinquency, sexual deviance, and self-destructive behavior and disvalued identity.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity - Dinah Shelton
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0028658477
Publication Date: 2005
A resource that includes topics such as, perpetrators and victims of known genocides, treatment of survivors, definitions of genocide, psychology and ideology, and many other topics related to the study of genocide

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence - Laura L. Finley
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0313336822
Publication Date: 2006
"This volume is best used as a resource for facts and statistics on the prevalence of youth crimes and on the variety of agencies and laws that have arisen to address such violence." (From Choice Reviews)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Serial Killers, The - Michael Newton
Call Number: HV6245 .N49 2000 Reference
ISBN: 081603978X
Publication Date: 1999
Lists case histories of individual serial killers and essays on general topics such as motives for serial killings.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime - Nicole Rafter; Nicole H. Rafter
Call Number: HV6046 .E56 2000 Reference
ISBN: 1573562149
Publication Date: 2000
A guide to the latest research on women and crime in the United States, Great Britain, Australia, and Canada, with an emphasis on the United States and on women as perpetrators or victims of crime.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Crime: Criminal Justice, Criminology, and Law Enforcement - Jay R. Nash
Call Number: HV6017 .N37 1990 Reference
ISBN: 0923582002
Publication Date: 1990
Contains more than 50,000 articles on all aspects of crime and law enforcement.

Cover Art
FBI a Comprehensive Reference Guide, The - Athan G. Theoharis
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 089774991X
Publication Date: 1998
Provides a comprehensive chronological history of the FBI. It includes information about the facilities, organizational structure, and biographies of key FBI individuals. It also addresses twentieth-century U.S. history, American popular culture, bureaucracy, national security policy, states’ rights issues, civil liberties, and dissent.

Cover Art
Mafia Encyclopedia, The - Carl Sifakis
Call Number: Online 2005 and HV6441 .S53 1999 Stacks
ISBN: 0816038562
Publication Date: 1999
A quick reference for information related to mafia-related issues. This reference traces the development of the mafia in the United States from the late 19th century through the late 20th century.

 

Ask A Librarian

Ask A Librarian
Service Desk

Located near the library entrance

Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday by appointment
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

Phone:
(765) 455-9521

E-mail: iuklib@iuk.edu

Chat: Use Microsoft Lync to chat
with a librarian at iuklib or
IUK Library - Ask A Librarian.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip