Go to www.iuk.edu home page Go to IU Kokomo Library home page
This is the "References" page of the "Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature  

The following reference sources provide information relevant to children's literature. They are available in the reference collection, stacks, or via the web as indicated. This is not a comprehensive listing.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2013 URL: http://iuk.libguides.com/child_lit Print Guide RSS Updates

References Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guides and Handbooks

The following reference sources provide information relevant to children’s literature.  They are available in the reference collection, stacks or via the Web as indicated. 

This is not a comprehensive listing.

Cover Art
Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults - Kirk H. Beetz (Editor)
Call Number: Z 1037.A1 G85 1989 Stacks
ISBN: 0933833113
Publication Date: 1989
A multi-volume compilation of analytical essays and study activities for fictional and biographical works written for young adults. A short biography about the author of each analyzed work is included.

Cover Art
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English - Victor Watson (Editor)
Call Number: PR 990 .C36 2001 Stacks
ISBN: 0521550645
Publication Date: 2001
This title is also available online in the Credo Reference database.

A reference providing a critical overview of children’s book written in English from pre-Norman times to the present. The reference contains entries listed by authors, titles, topics and technical terms.

Cover Art
The Children's and Young Adult Literature Handbook - John T. Gillespie
Call Number: Z 1037.A1 G475 2005 Stacks
ISBN: 1563089491
Publication Date: 2005
Designed to serve as a selection guide and collection development aid for librarians, as well as a navigation tool for researchers.

Cover Art
Keywords for Children's Literature - Philip Nel; Lissa Paul
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 081475855X
Publication Date: 2011
This title is available online in the Credo Reference database

The study of children's literature and culture has been experiencing a renaissance, with vital new work proliferating across many areas of interest. Mapping this vibrant scholarship, Keywords for Children's Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.

Cover Art
Masterplots II, Juvenile and Young Adult Fiction Series - Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Z 1037.A1 M377 1991 Stacks
ISBN: 0893565792
Publication Date: 1991
Provides in-depth information about literary works of interest to young adults. Biographies, autobiographies and fiction are included. Entries contain lengthy descriptions of content and an analysis of themes.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature - Humphrey Carpenter; Mari Prichard
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C37 1984 Stacks
ISBN: 0192115820
Publication Date: 1984
A comprehensive reference source covering both British and American children’s literature. Entries are alphabetically arranged and are cross-referenced. There is biographical information on authors and the history of children’s literature publishing.

 

Encyclopedias

Cover Art
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature - Bernice E. Cullinan
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C66 2001
ISBN: 0826415164
Publication Date: 2005
This title’s 2005 edition is also available online in the Credo Reference database.

A comprehensive single-volume reference describing the development and current trends in children’s literature throughout the world. There are topical entries and biographical entries on authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.

International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature - Peter Hunt
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .I57 2004 Stacks
ISBN: 0415290546
Publication Date: 2004
Scholarly essays on children’s literature with a British emphasis.

 

Dictionaries

The following five dictionaries contain entries that include titles, authors, characters, and settings based on books of fiction for young audiences.  All books included have either won or been finalists for major awards for children’s literature.

 

ADDITIONAL DICTIONARIES:  

Cover Art
The Children's Literature Dictionary - Kathy Latrobe; Carolyn S. Brodie; Maureen White
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .L38 2002 Reference
ISBN: 1555704247
Publication Date: 2002
This dictionary contains a complete and concise definition of terms relevant to children’s literature. The terms are arranged in a cross-referenced index of entries by subject. The organizational structure also uses See and See Also references within the dictionary entries.

Cover Art
Dictionary of British Children's Fiction - Alethea K. Helbig; Agnes Regan Perkins
Call Number: PR 830.C513 H4 1989 Stacks
ISBN: 0313272395
Publication Date: 1989
A two volume set that describes children’s literature of the British Isles. The books included have won or been finalist for major awards in children’s literature. The title contains entries listed by titles, authors, characters, and some miscellaneous entries.

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of Children's Literature - Emer O'Sullivan
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780810874961
Publication Date: 2010
Concise and informative dictionary entries covering a variety of topics in children’s literature. Includes a chronology, major awards, and a detailed bibliography of resources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip